Australia’s voice of aged care, Leading Age Services Australia (LASA), welcomed the formal passing of the new aged care standards under the Single Aged Care Quality Framework  by Federal Parliament last night.

LASA CEO Sean Rooney said the standards were a vital component of the Federal Government reform agenda to drive continuous improvements in the quality of aged care.

“The new standards deliver a single approach to quality assessment across the different aged care settings including residential care and home care,” Mr Rooney said.

“The single Framework will both streamline assessment of the performance of providers against these new standards as well as improve the information about quality and safety that is available to consumers.

“LASA supports the new Aged Care Quality Standards on the basis that these standards reflect current evidence on how best to deliver quality care, support, services and accommodation for our older Australians.”

The Government’s single set of quality standards called the Aged Care Quality Standards replace the:

  • Accreditation Standards;
  • Home Care Standards;
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program Quality;
  • Framework Standards; and
  • Transition Care Standards.

The Aged Care Quality Standards will commence from 1 July 2018, but with assessment against the Standards from 1 July 2019.

Mr Rooney said LASA welcomes the transition period for the new standards which will allow the sector to identify what is needed for implementation and also any practical issues to be navigated.

LASA was consulted on development of the standards and recently made a submission on the draft guidance material that will support the standards.

Mr Rooney said LASA continues to work with its Members and Government to help build a high performing, respected and sustainable age services industry, delivering accessible, affordable, quality care and services for older Australians.

(Visited 104 times, 1 visits today)